Print Styles Talk from WordCamp Buffalo 2013

Back in October I had the pleasure of speaking at Buffalo’s second WordCamp. Unlike the talk I gave at least year’s event, I opted to go for something a bit more technical, something we build into every site we develop at Algonquin Studios and that I have been promoting for years now.

So I crafted a presentation on how to use print styles on a web site. At Algonquin Studios we support many platforms, including our own homegrown content management system (CMS), QuantumCMS. I have also learned that many WordPress developers also work on other platforms, so I opted to discuss print styles independent of the CMS used to power the site.

I focused on the background of print styles and related them to responsive design, I covered best practices and techniques, demonstrated how you can use Google Analytics to track what pages are printed from a site, and touched on the future of print styles.

All of my slides are here along with a video from my talk. Below the embedded content are links to other articles and posts I have written about print styles for those who want to get a deeper dive into some of the aspects.

The Slides

The Video

The video gets cut off before the end, but the key information is still in the slides.

Further Reading

Leave a Comment

