Why Gmail is Great – It’s Software Developed With the End-User in Mind

Technology in our daily lives is ever-expanding, so it should follow that software development companies are absolutely booming – in fact, MarketLine states that the global software market is expected to grow to a whopping $357 billion dollar industry by 2015, which is quite a boost from the $265 billion total from 2010. Companies already deep in this industry will certainly want an edge over their competition, and there’s no better way to gain the trust of their customers than building great software.

When you think examples of truly magnificent software, what springs to mind? For me, Gmail takes the cake – a simple yet intuitive piece of software that makes the mundane task of writing and organizing e-mail truly effortless. Every aspect of the software is designed to be as easy-to-use as possible, while providing the ability to use a wide array of features. Many times it’s difficult to strike a balance between simplistic design and power, but Gmail hits the nail on the head.

tabs

One thing separating Gmail from the other e-mail services out there is their recent implementation of category tabs. I have to admit, when this feature was released, I wasn’t thrilled – my knee-jerk reaction was something along the lines of “Why complicate things by dividing my inbox? Why fix what’s not broken?” Oh, how young and foolish I was – this feature has quickly become one of my favorite aspects of Gmail, allowing me to quickly jump to different categories. Do I want to check out all of my social media updates? One click of the “Social” tab will do that! How about any promotional e-mails outlining that day’s sales? You guessed it, just hit the “Promotions” tab. Additionally, you don’t even have to specify which e-mail is sorted under which tab – Gmail does it automatically. Brilliant!

If you’ve ever mentioned attaching something in Gmail, and then completely forgot to attach it, you’re greeted with the following message:

attachfiles

This likely didn’t take much time to develop at all, yet has likely saved many people from looking foolish (first-hand experience here). While it isn’t likely to make or break which e-mail service you choose, these details really impresses you when you need them.

It’s this kind of usability that gives me confidence in Google’s software – I’d be more willing to try software that they develop, since I’m comfortable with the kind of work they do from prior experience. On the flip-side, had my Gmail experiences been full of frustration or lacked the features that I’ve come to expect, maybe I’d check out alternatives – in fact, it was my frustration with Yahoo!’s services that led me to leaving it behind in the first place. The bottom line – usability matters, and if you aren’t able to put out simple software with powerful features, your customers will find someone else who can.

Leave a Comment

