Encouraging Great Customer Support

Just last night I had to call the support line for a service I recently cancelled but still had a few questions about. The call was frustrating and I didn’t get all the answers I needed before I finally gave up and ended the call, dissatisfied and unlikely to ever work with the company in question again. While the call was painful, the experience got me thinking about the support we here at Algonquin Studios offer and take pride in. As a Support Representative, I genuinely strive to be helpful to our clients and hope that their experiences with us are good ones.

My colleagues and I have written blog posts in the past about how to make your support experience the best it can be and how to ensure you get the most out of the time spent on the phone with us. This week, I wanted to switch things up a bit, though, and share some ways we can all encourage the customer service people we talk to on a daily basis, helping them continue to do a good job for us:

Smile
Support reps can tell when you’re smiling, even through the phone lines. We know you’re likely calling because something is wrong or you’re experiencing some sort of difficulty but smiling helps your voice to sound friendly, warm, and open-minded and puts both of us in a better frame of mind to tackle the issue head-on.

Give Us Details
If you’re calling about an error message you received when using our software, take note of what the actual error message says. The fact that you’ve done a little work on your own, prior to calling us, can make us feel like we’re in this together and that solving your problem is a team effort. Plus, extra effort on the front end will save us both time, help us get to the root of your problem (and it’s solution) more easily, and get you off the phone and back to your real life more quickly.

Don’t Be Afraid To Joke Around
Humor is one of our “Four H’s” here at Algonquin, so we’re definitely not afraid of cracking a joke or two, even at our own expense! In reality, most of us love jokes as much as the next guy and humor can be a great way to de-stress a situation, so my coworkers and I love talking to clients who know that, even in the face of a problem, they can make the best of the situation and crack a joke. It’s another great way to foster a team spirit and show that we’re all in this problem-solving experience together!

Say “Thank You”
Yes, they’re just two little words, but believe me, those two words are powerful! Never underestimate the power of “thank you,” even in the face of a difficult situation or issue that requires additional follow-up. It makes me smile when a client says “thank you” and helps me feel like I’m truly appreciated for the job I’m doing.

So, those are some of the ways our clients can help me feel better about my job. What insights do you wish you could share with people that could make you much happier in your work life?

This entry was posted in Business, Client Relationships, Customer Service and tagged , , , by Margaret Siller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Margaret Siller

Degree/Education Background: Bachelor's of Science in Environmental Science with a Minor in Physical Geography from the University at Buffalo. What is it you do at AS? Whether it be installing an application on a mobile device or questions about how to use a feature of QuantumCMS, when clients call our support lines, I help them with whatever issue they happen to be having! What do you spend time doing outside the office? Anything that has to do with whitewater. I am a whitewater river rat/adrenaline junkie and spend my weekends traveling through the NorthEast looking for rapids to drop through and rivers to paddle. Whether it be in my raft, yelling at a bunch of people to "paddle hard!" or in my kayak, with my friends around me, enjoying places that other people dream of. What's your favorite... Song/Music: Almost anything, but I love Irish music and that's what you'll find me listening to 99% of the time on Pandora. Movie: The 5th Element

Leave a Comment

