Learning on the Job

I’ve been the receptionist here at Algonquin Studios for more than six months now and I have to say, working at a technology company when you don’t have the same level of technical knowledge and understanding as your co-workers can prove to be pretty challenging.  Fortunately, it can easily be informative and rewarding as well!

If you’re at all like me, you’ve experienced the complete confusion of overhearing a conversation and not understanding a single aspect of it. Obviously, at a company that develops custom software and web sites many of my fellow employees discuss their code and designs frequently, and although I sometimes get lucky with lunchtime discussions that revolve around the most recent Bills game, fantasy football, or the NHL lockout, I often feel lost just listening to them when the topics veer back to HTML, database design, or requirements analysis. And, of course, technologies are always changing, so as soon as I think I might  have a good grasp on something, it changes, or gets “improved,” and I feel like I’m back at square one.

But, the flip side of this coin is that for all of my confusion there’s an opportunity to learn.

One of the best things about Algonquin Studios is that it’s a company of technology consultants. While I’m certainly a competent computer user – I can download music, install new hardware and software, and surf the internet with confidence, knowing I’m not going to get a virus – working with developers and designers who spend their days, not just staring at a screen, but actually interacting with our clients, having real conversations with them, asking the questions that get to the root of their problems, and then buckling down to develop the right solution for that problem, means that I’m in the enviable position to pick the brains of people who can really break things down for me and explain them clearly and simply. I can ask questions about things I don’t understand and gain better understanding of constantly evolving technologies. And, since I’m a pretty fast learner and I like being able to share new things with others, I enjoy being able to take the knowledge I gain here and pass on to my family and friends.

I think it’s important to remember to keep an open mind, not just about new technologies but also about your own ability to understand them and use them in your daily life. And it’s equally important to find people who are willing teachers. Fortunately, at Algonquin Studios, my inquisitive spirit is complemented by a group of really helpful technology experts!

 

Leave a Comment

