Moving Into The 21st Century, And Feeling A Little Silly That It Took Me So Long

I remember the time my parents called to tell me that they had signed us up for a family plan and I was getting my first cell phone. That first cell phone didn’t tell me what time it was and it didn’t hold contact information, so I had to memorize the phone numbers for anyone I wanted to call, but in the past 10 years I’ve slowly upgraded as technology has progressed and phones have gotten smarter and smarter. Two plus years ago I was due to get another upgrade but I held my ground and said “no” because I didn’t want to deal with picking a complicated data plan and deciding which bells and whistles were right for me. Working for a technology company, the last thing I wanted was to be “addicted” to my phone and always reachable via email even when I wasn’t in front of my computer. I enjoy my time away from the digital world and I like to be completely cut off from the world at some points.

But when I started working here at Algonquin Studios I found that everyone here had a smart phone of some sort and most people were shocked that I still had what I liked to call a “dumb phone.” I still stuck to my guns and kept telling myself (and everyone else) that I didn’t need or want a smartphone and I was perfectly content with what I had. But of course, as time went on, I found myself wanting a new phone. And not just so that I could say that I had the latest and greatest device out there, but because I realized a more functional phone would make life easier – both at work and in my personal life.

I started discussing with my coworkers which platform they preferred and got a lot of pretty strong opinions. The Android lovers told me why they think Andriod is the best and why iOS leaves much to be desired and, not surprisingly, the iOS lovers told me the exact opposite. After weighing comments from both sides of the argument, I decided to go with an Android phone and needed lots of assistance from my coworkers on even the most basic functions as I’d only worked with a Windows-based smart phone (due to my work with SWRemote) to that point.

But, honestly, now that I have a smart phone and am up to speed, it really is making both my work and home life so much easier. My phone lets me receive customer service emails that come in after close of business, when I’m on call but not necessarily sitting directly in front of my computer, and our support system has an app that makes keeping an eye on support tickets as easy as looking for the perfect restaurant for a night out on the town (which my phone also lets me do, of course)! I’m no longer shackled to my desk but I’m still able to provide high-level, quality support to our clients wherever I am, whenever they need it and I’m kind of embarrassed to have fought the smartphone revolution for so long!

Is there a technology or device you’d been claiming you didn’t need and then realized how silly you were being once you got it or started using it?

This entry was posted in Android, Customer Service, Technology and tagged , , , by Margaret Siller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Margaret Siller

Degree/Education Background: Bachelor's of Science in Environmental Science with a Minor in Physical Geography from the University at Buffalo. What is it you do at AS? Whether it be installing an application on a mobile device or questions about how to use a feature of QuantumCMS, when clients call our support lines, I help them with whatever issue they happen to be having! What do you spend time doing outside the office? Anything that has to do with whitewater. I am a whitewater river rat/adrenaline junkie and spend my weekends traveling through the NorthEast looking for rapids to drop through and rivers to paddle. Whether it be in my raft, yelling at a bunch of people to "paddle hard!" or in my kayak, with my friends around me, enjoying places that other people dream of. What's your favorite... Song/Music: Almost anything, but I love Irish music and that's what you'll find me listening to 99% of the time on Pandora. Movie: The 5th Element

Leave a Comment

